These sources address the issues that will affect demand.  Broad trends and developments in an organization's environment: Social, demographic, econonic, technological and political/legal.

Bizminer   Industry Financial and Industry Market Analysis.   9000 industries by sales lass.  Find reports for National, state, county, metro and zip code.

Industry Market Reports
BIzMarketts2Go Radius Profiles
Competitive Market Analyzer
Sales per Square Foot Report

Euromonitor Passport  (Global coverage)  Specialized market research reports, world-wide.

Statistics, analysis and survey results by detailed industy segment, Economies, Consumers,s Companies
Daily special reports on home page 

Market Size, Company shares, Brand shares, distribution, pricing and market reports.

Dashboard!   Passport's market trends interactive survey tool

try this example:

Industry --  Consumer Electronics -- computers and periferals
Countries & Consumers --  Consumer trends and lifestyles, income and expenditures, population and homes.

Segmenting and Targeting using consumer behavior analytics and geographic information  systems (GIS) 

Marketing Plan:  Segmentation, Targeting

Segmentation and Targeting.   You can use the market attributes you started with to go into more depth into your target market.   There are sophisiticated market research analysis tools that use extensive demographic and lifestyle survey data and combine that with maps to visually show relationships that help marketers.

Passport by Euromonitor 
Expert market analysis and statistics on consumer products and services for most countries.

SimplyAnalytics (CSUSM) and create personal account to save
Consumer demographics at the national US level, state, county, and local levels.  Uses MRI and SimmonsLocal detailed consumer preferences, lifestyle, survey responses. 
Create your own account 

ESRI GIS Community Analyst

To obtain password access to ESRI's GIS product please contact the Business Librarian Ann Fiegen, afiegen@csusm.edu or Allen  Risley arisley@csusm.edu

ESRI Community Analyst and ArcGIS

Access to ESRI data and mapping service is available via password request.  Contact your instructor or the GIS lab.
For library research associated with a business assignment contact Ann Fiegen afiegen@csusm.edu for a password.

ArcGIS Online (Companion site)

Community Analyst Online  use this link to access CAO

HELP INTRODUCTION to using Community Analyst Online

ESRI Demographics   See data source, available geographies and years and methodologies.  US and Other countries.
Sectors for the US include: ESRI updated demographics, Census and ACS, Tapestry Segmentation, Consumer Spending, Market Potential, Retail MarketPlace, Business Data, Major Shopping Center, Traffic Counts.  

Available geographics:  Census designations, and DMA (Designated Market Areas)  based on Nielsen Media Research.

Consumer Spending:     20 categories with data derived from Bureau of Labor Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Market Potential:    35 categories of products and services derived from GfK MRI
Retail MarketPlace:     Retail sales by industry (NAIC) and measures supply and demand. 
Business Location Data:     By SIC/NAIC industry; annual sales, employees and other. Compiled from InfoGroup.  Use for site or competitor analysis, day or evening hiring by industry, match to busines inventory statistics.
Major Shopping:     Location and data on major shopping center.
Traffic Counts:    Daily volume and changes. 
 

About GIS @ CSUSM

Want to know more:

ESRI White Papers HELP PAGES
Using data from the American Community Survey  (how to work with margins of error and more)

Importing your own data into Business Analyst

Explore ESRI GIS Retail for marketing, merchandizing and real estate and supply chain

ESRI Demographics Global Coverage Story Map directing user to data and maps

ESRI Insights    ESRI Insights Tutorial

GIS in Business videos from the ESRI 2016 Business summit in San Diego

COMPANY INFORMATION

Business uses directories for industry analysis, competitor analysis, marketing, supplier, customers.
Company directories provide individual and competitor details for:

• Name
• Address and other contacts
• Key personnel
• Revenue and Sales
• Employee size
• NAIC / SIC numbers

Databases by Subject -- Business (this link opens in a separate window so you can acces each of these recommended databases). 

Searching databases for private companies, non-profits, schools and other other organizations may require multiple trys in different sources. 

ReferenceUSA  US private and public businesses,  some nonprofits includes sales and employee numbers.  Executive contact info.

How to Find Franchises in ReferenceUSA     GBM 425

For your Final GBM 425 Falla 2019 assignment find a franchise in ReferenceUSA use these filters to limit to select according to your assignment instructions 

1. Advanced Search -- Keyword:  Franchise  
2. Headquarters --- Pick several states
3. Sales --- Over 1 Billion  or figure adequate to expand oversees

RefUSA Learning Center  ** Quick Training material, videos, and guides**  How to search for businesses, competitors, suppliers, jobs and internships, general consumer research. 

Step By Step Guide to RefUSA [Does not work waiting for software update.] Company & Competitor search  *** Custom Guide to get to competitors. ***

How to guides for all things ReferenceUSA

Addition options for company searches

Factiva   Public company profiles.
Choose the Companies tab across the top first to find Company profiles, competitors, and latest news.

CQ FD Disclosure Conference Calls:  C-Level transcripts to analysts for Quarterly and Annual reports. 
To access:   Search name of company > Narrow on Left nav bar to Source:  Disclosure Reports

Business Source Premier   Search for Company SWOT analysis, large companies only.  
 

Megent Online BUS 444

Excellent for public corporations worldwide, also limited info on private companies in US.  Annual report in-depth financials, detailed history and abiltiy to make custom reports and analyse competitors.  Financial analysis from annual report data and  research firms 

Access: 
Company > Reports > Mergent Reports
Company > Competitors > Add all > Company Comparison Report 
Company Detais > Highlights (Health Check) 
Company Detais > Business segments (not required by the SEC but some reports available)
Company > Report Builder > Comparison Reports = against industry, or against Top 10, etc. 

California Business Entitites  Search for existing companies or file for new company name

Non-profit and charitable resource page. 
Recommended:  Charity Navigator, ERI Nonprofit Foundation Grant info. Foundation Center, Grant Search, GuideStar, IRS Master Tax File.

News articles on the web and library subscriptions.  Use .gov .org 

INDUSTRY DATA  Best place to start your industry analysis is by reviewing the BUS 302 Industry Reports how to apply Porter's, SWOTT, or Griffin.
The U.S. Census and use NAIC Industry Code for latest Industry Statistics.
Census --> Business and Industry --> Data by Geography
 

Professional analysis of case studies requires more than these recommended sources!  In addition to these recommended business news sources, use the library OneSearch on the Home Page of the library to look across all library material.  Expect to narrow and limit your results.

Top Premium Subscription Business News Sources           

 ABI Inform Complete (Proquest) 
 Excellent studies, reports, and trade and industry news. 

ABI Tips! 

• Change sort order to Newest Date first
• Narrow by Subject (more options)

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Good for trade news and the only place to find Harvard Business Review (HBR selected not all).

FACTIVA
Excellent for international and major business news.  (WSJ, NYT, Washington Post, San Diego Union-Tribune)

Factiva Tips!  

• Change Date from 3 months to 2 years
• ​Choose the NEWS PAGES on the black bar to get the latest 2 weeks WSJ, NYT, LA Times, Washington Post and others

Business News Publications

Newsbank:  America's News
Full text of major news sources including the Los Angeles Times and the San Diego Union-Tribune, and Press Enterprise

San Diego Union Tribune    Link here and print edition, see 3rd floor of the library (behind the research help desk).
San Diego Business Journal   Proquest ABI Inform and print edition, see 3rd floor of the library (behind the research help desk).
Press Enterprise Riverside County Newsbank

Bloomberg BusinessWeek   Full text through Business Sources Premier

Bloomberg Tip!  Search within this publication    top right

The Economist  (online) Full text link.  [via Proquest ABI Inform]  Free Economist gives only limited content

Financial Times (London) ABI Inform (Proquest)  Last month not available. 

Harvard Business Review  Ebsco - Business Source Premier -- Full text of Harvard business review.

HBR Tips!

• Some full text not available electronically.  See paper edition  HF5001.H3 (4th floor periodicals)
• Case studies are not available in this subscription

Trade and  Professional Associations  -- Industry Trending News

Look to trade association pages on the free web.  Many industry and news reports will identify them.  Some information is available free, but most are only available to members.  Get around this by searching the association name for news reports in the above databases.  Examples of trade and professional associations are the National Restaurant Association; American Library Association.

Find associations in the industry reports recommended here, such as First Research.  Search on the web using .org   Find references to associations in news article

APA Citation Style Guide (General)

    Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

____________________________________________________________________________

Reference the APA handout created by the writing center.  This is a single-page handout. It is intended to be printed two-sided and tri-folded.

apa_trifold_outside_6.18.19.pdf	apa_trifold_inside_6.18.19.pdf

• Need help, visit the writing center! 

____________________________________________________________________________

Common Business Citation Styles in APA Format

How to Cite in Text:

Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)

Example: 

She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.

According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

Recommended Citation Generators:

A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.

KnightCite       Hekman Library Calvin College

DocsCite          Arizona State University to help cite government documents

Owl at Purdue APA Style.     Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.

 

DOI Digital Object Identifiers

Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.

DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL of the database name.

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 

Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

News article, no DOI, in Factiva 

Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

CQ FD Disclosure (2017). Event Brief of Q3 2017 McCormick & Company Inc Earnings Call - Final. Retrieved from Factiva. 

Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune

Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15 per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 

Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

Books:

Examples: 

Chapter in a book: 

O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.

Whole book: 

McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.

E-book, no DOI: 

Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

Chapter or Section of a web document:

Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 

Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from https://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture

Company Information TEMPLATE 

Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 

Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

Examples: Entries in library databases:

Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 

Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

Industry Reports

Example:

Cohen, A. (2017). Department stores in the U.S report 45211. IBISWorld Industry. Retrieved from IBISWorld database

First Research (2017). Clothing Stores.  Retrieved from Mergent First Research. 

Industry Statistics:

Example: 

U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.

Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.

REFERENCEUSA or data generated from an analytics site or GIS

Example: 

InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

ESRI. San Diego County Market Potential. 2016. www.communityanalystonline.com. August 25, 2017. 

SimplyAnalytics user created data set / map:

SimplyAnalytics (2017). EASI/MRI Consumer Expenditure Data 2016. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book

See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.

Encyclopedia, No author: 

Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.

Reference work, Author:

Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.

Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)

Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video

To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 

CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE

Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)

APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.

In Text Example:

...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)

.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.

REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA

10/17 afiegen