Industry Analysis
Industry Profiles (Industry overview reports)
Industry Research
Industry Reports prepared by expert analysts in this premium content. Offer a broad description and outlook at the macro environment of an industry, key trends, broad customer profiles and market or investment analysis of the industry. Many databases offer the ability to search by NAICS code.
IBISWorld US Industry reports. Search by keyword OR NAIC code (uses 5 digits of 6 digit codes).
Industry Research in over 700 reports by NAIC for the US. industry analysis, external, internal and economic, supply chain. Some Global and International Reports
First Research (Mergent Intellect)
Industry Research and Interview starter questions for exec levels. Social Media feed updates on business and industry.
Mergent Online Go to the Report Search Tab to get to the industry reports.
Use for major industries only, global coverage. Especially useful for industries represented by publicly traded companies. Search by company or broad industry name.
ABI Inform / Complete (Global )
Use the BROWSE tab for publications on industry, commodities, and country reports.
- BMI Country Industry Reports
- BMI Global Oil Market Reports
- BMI Industry Insight Reports
- BMI Risk Reports
Business Source Premier (EbscoHost database)
Marketline reports with global coverage. Each report contains statistics on industry market value, forecast, and market segmentation, competition and leading companies. Look for Porter's Five Forces analysis. Each report is 24 pages long, caution to look at dates may be older.
PRINT SOURCE
S&P Capital IQ Industry Surveys HG4915 .S652 3rd Floor Reference [Print ONLY]
Excellent for in depth analysis industries representing large US corporations. Segments on Industry Trends, How an Industry Operates, How to Analyse a Company. Its in print but it is the single best industry introduction source in this library. Excellent source for more sources of information such as trade magazines, professional associations and regulators.
Industry Specific:
Hospitality --- BRASS Business Librarian recommendations for researching the hospitality industry.
Fashion: On the Front Lines when Currencies Shift
Local Industry Analysis
San Diego Economic Development Industry Reports (Website)
"San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation (EDC) regularly releases and sponsors research that provides a baseline of industry data to encourage and support economic investment. EDC also conducts studies on key industries and identify actions needed to spur growth in the region." (Source: San Diego Regional EDC).
San Diego Association of Governments [SANDAG] (Website)
SANDAG serves as the forum for regional decision-making for the San Diego
region. Resources such as Demographics and other data and publications will
be of interest.
Market Research Reports
Passport Euromonitor Global Industry Reports Detailed reporting. GBM 425 and SE MARKETING PROJECTS
Euromonitor Industry reports, in depth analysis on trends in consumer products and services industries, include market analyst reports and statistical data. Country and consumer reseacher as well as economic, business and transport.
Financial Industry Analysis For those looking for more financial analysis.
Bizminer Detailed industry financial and industry market analysis. 9000 industries by sales. Find reports at the national, state, county, metro and zip code. Update 6/18: Now shows Z-scores for credit strength and financial viability.
Industry Snapshots by NAIC from the census
Statistical profiles of US Industries by NAIC.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
Excellent compilation of essential statistics to support other reports. The source is often government and other agencies.
Books on Industry in the library.
Hundreds of different industries are represented in the library catalog.
You will find whole books on the food industry, or service industries, craft beer, restaurants, etc.
Manufacturing Industries
Retail trade
Service Industries
Industry Profile United States (e-reports)
Consumer
Consumer Research
Market Trends and Growth and Consumer segmentation and target research
Here you need to know a bit about your industry, where its headed and what environmental factors may affect it. Analysts reports on industry include current and forecasting analysis. The library has a number of these IBISWorld is one example.
- IBISWorld Industry Surveys
- First Research (US only)
Consumer Research
- PRIZM You are Where you Live (quick look up)
- US Census Factfinder (American Community Survey)
- Euromonitor Passport (Global coverage) MKTG 433 Fall 2017 IN-DEPTH Premier consumer marketing research with global coverage
Includes broad trends and developments in an organization's environment: Social, demographic, econonic, technological and political/legal- Statistics and expert market analysis by detailed industry segment, countries, market environment and consumers.
- Search INDUSTRIES and COUNTRIES AND CONSUMERS
- Market Size, Company shares, Brand shares, channel distribution, pricing and market reports.
- TRY Dashboard! Passport's market trends interactive tool
try this example:
Industry -- Consumer Electronics -- computers and periferals
Countries & Consumers -- Consumer trends and lifestyles, income and expenditures, population and homes.
- ESRI GIS Community Analyst (Request Access password required)
- http://csusm-gis-lab.maps.arcgis.com/home/index.html
- Request password access from Ann Fiegen.
- Video clips guide you data for demographic, lifestyle, consumer spending primarily for US, and selected other countries.
ESRI (GIS) Community Analyst
ESRI Community Analyst and ArcGIS
Access to ESRI data and mapping service is available via password request. Contact your instructor or the GIS lab.
For library research associated with a business assignment contact Ann Fiegen afiegen@csusm.edu for a password.
ArcGIS Online (Companion site)
Community Analyst Online use this link to access CAO
HELP INTRODUCTION to using Community Analyst Online
ESRI Demographics See data source, available geographies and years and methodologies. US and Other countries.
Sectors for the US include: ESRI updated demographics, Census and ACS, Tapestry Segmentation, Consumer Spending, Market Potential, Retail MarketPlace, Business Data, Major Shopping Center, Traffic Counts.
Available geographics: Census designations, and DMA (Designated Market Areas) based on Nielsen Media Research.
Consumer Spending: 20 categories with data derived from Bureau of Labor Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Market Potential: 35 categories of products and services derived from GfK MRI
Retail MarketPlace: Retail sales by industry (NAIC) and measures supply and demand.
Business Location Data: By SIC/NAIC industry; annual sales, employees and other. Compiled from InfoGroup. Use for site or competitor analysis, day or evening hiring by industry, match to busines inventory statistics.
Major Shopping: Location and data on major shopping center.
Traffic Counts: Daily volume and changes.
Want to know more:
ESRI White Papers HELP PAGES
Using data from the American Community Survey (how to work with margins of error and more)
Importing your own data into Business Analyst
Explore ESRI GIS Retail for marketing, merchandizing and real estate and supply chain
ESRI Demographics Global Coverage Story Map directing user to data and maps
ESRI Insights ESRI Insights Tutorial
GIS in Business videos from the ESRI 2016 Business summit in San Diego
GIS for Business and Marketing
ESRI Community / Business Analyst
Demographic & Lifestyle data with Spatial Analysis -- Mapping
GIS in Business videos from the ESRI 2016 Business summit right in San Diego
Access to ESRI data and mapping service is available via password request. Contact AnnFiegen, your instructor or the GIS lab.
For library research associated with a business assignment contact the business librarian, Judy Opdahl, JOpdahl@csusm.edu to be put in contact with an administrator for a password.
Business Analyst Online Sign in with CSUSM password
Business Analyst Online Web app One minute getting started video.
HELP INTRODUCTION to using Community Analyst Online
ESRI Demographics See data source, available geographies and years and methodologies. US and Other countries.
Sectors include: For the US: ESRI Updated demographics, Census and ACS, Tapestry Segmentation, Consumer Spending, Market Potential, Retail MarketPlace, Business Data, Major Shopping Center, Traffic Counts.
Available geographics: Census designations, and DMA (Designated Market Areas) based on Nielsen Media Research.
Consumer Spending: 20 categories with data derived from Bureau of Labor Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Market Potential: 35 categories of products and services derived from GfK MRI
Retail MarketPlace: Retail sales by industry (NAIC) and measures supply and demand.
Business Location Data: By SIC/NAIC industry; annual sales, employees and other. Compiled from InfoGroup. Use for site or competitor analysis, day or evening hiring by industry, match to busines inventory statistics.
Major Shopping: Location and data on major shopping center.
Traffic Counts: Daily volume and changes.
ESRI White Papers HELP PAGES
Using data from the American Community Survey (how to work with margins of error and more)
Importing your own data into Business Analyst
Explore ESRI GIS Retail for marketing, merchandizing and real estate and supply chain
ESRI Demographics Global Coverage Story Map directing user to data and maps
ESRI Insights ESRI Insights Tutorial
GIS for Business
GIS for Business and Marketing
ESRI Community / Business Analyst
Demographic & Lifestyle data with Spatial Analysis -- Mapping
GIS in Business videos from the ESRI 2016 Business summit right in San Diego
Access to ESRI data and mapping service is available via password request. Contact AnnFiegen, your instructor or the GIS lab.
For library research associated with a business assignment contact the business librarian, Judy Opdahl, JOpdahl@csusm.edu to be put in contact with an administrator for a password.
Business Analyst Online Sign in with CSUSM password
Business Analyst Online Web app One minute getting started video.
HELP INTRODUCTION to using Community Analyst Online
ESRI Demographics See data source, available geographies and years and methodologies. US and Other countries.
Sectors include: For the US: ESRI Updated demographics, Census and ACS, Tapestry Segmentation, Consumer Spending, Market Potential, Retail MarketPlace, Business Data, Major Shopping Center, Traffic Counts.
Available geographics: Census designations, and DMA (Designated Market Areas) based on Nielsen Media Research.
Consumer Spending: 20 categories with data derived from Bureau of Labor Consumer Expenditure Surveys
Market Potential: 35 categories of products and services derived from GfK MRI
Retail MarketPlace: Retail sales by industry (NAIC) and measures supply and demand.
Business Location Data: By SIC/NAIC industry; annual sales, employees and other. Compiled from InfoGroup. Use for site or competitor analysis, day or evening hiring by industry, match to busines inventory statistics.
Major Shopping: Location and data on major shopping center.
Traffic Counts: Daily volume and changes.
ESRI White Papers HELP PAGES
Using data from the American Community Survey (how to work with margins of error and more)
Importing your own data into Business Analyst
Explore ESRI GIS Retail for marketing, merchandizing and real estate and supply chain
ESRI Demographics Global Coverage Story Map directing user to data and maps
ESRI Insights ESRI Insights Tutorial
Non Profits and Charitable Organizations
Business Non-Profit Information
Non Profit Organizations
Selected Subjects in Library Catalog
Consider these suggestions a beginning, once selected use the additional entry points as clues.
Charitable uses trusts and foundations
Community organization
Endowments
Museum attendance
Nonprofit organizations
Keyword: nonprofit
990 returns
Foundation Center 990 Finder An fast way to find financial filings for foundations, public charities and nonprofits.
Economic Research Institute ERI Nonprofit Organizations
Directory and 990 Forms
Try searching: Associated Students of California State University San Marcos
Exempt Organizations: IRS Master File Data.
This IRS site lists tax-exempt organizations, by state, or region. Downloadable compressed excel files.
Recommended Databases
ProQuest Direct
Includes complete ABI Inform (business) and Newsstand publications.
Factiva
Covers news and business information, including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources providing current news.
General Sources
Pivot Access to funding opportunities and research grants worldwide. Important to narrow your search. If using Pivot for Senior Experience projects best to ask your professor or business librarian for best practices use. There are also alternative sources available, just ask us.
Annual Register of Grant Support. AS911.A2 A67 2009 Research Help Desk
Corporate, private, and public funding opportunities as well as educational associations and unions. Each entry provides eligibility, procedures, deadlines, and contact information.
National Center for Charitable Statistics (Urban Institute)
Charity Navigator: Student Recommended!
Charity directory and interactive financial evaluator
Find Funders: Foundation Center
Locate basic information by organization name, contact information and 990 IRS returns. Contains statistics on foundation and grant activity, search for RFP announcements for calls for grant applications.
Grants.gov Search and apply for Federal Grants, how to apply and community blogs.
GuideStar.org: Free registration required to view some content
A national registry of nonprofit organizations. Provides resources such as articles, regulations, resources for non-profit organizations and donor opportunities. Organization information including 990 returns.
The Foundation directory. AS911.A2 F65 REFERENCE Ask a CSUSM Librarian for referral to access.
Wise Giving Alliance Better Business Bureau
Selected Books
Click to see: E-books, Print books and videos in the library: Subject Fund Raising Published 2010-2018.
Most recent titles --
Heyman, D., & Brenner, L. (2016). Nonprofit fundraising 101: A practical guide with easy to implement ideas & tips from industry experts.
Jean-François, E., Drew, S., Lankas, P., & Jean Francois, E. (2015). Financial sustainability for nonprofit organizations. New York: Springer Publishing Company.
Selected Journals
Article: - What We Know and Want to Know: About San Diego's Nonprofit Landscape - in The Voice of San Diego
Trade Journal - The Chronicle of Philanthropy - via EBSCOHost
Association Management. ProQuest Direct
Fund Raising Management. ProQuest Direct
Journal of Nonprofit & Public Sector Marketing. HF5410 .J685 Pais, PsychInfo
Nonprofit management & Leadership. ProQuest Direct
Citing your work APA Style
Guide to Using APA Business Citations
APA Citation Style Guide (General)
Has links to guides and citation generators.
Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495
____________________________________________________________________________
Reference the APA handout created by the writing center. This is a single-page handout. It is intended to be printed two-sided and tri-folded.
|
|
- Need help, visit the writing center!
____________________________________________________________________________
Common Business Citation Styles in APA Format
How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)
Example:
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.
According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).
Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.
Recommended Citation Generators:
A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.
KnightCite Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style. Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.
DOI Digital Object Identifiers
Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval
Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL of the database name.
Articles, News or Trade:
News article with DOI:
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
News article, no DOI, in Factiva
Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.
CQ FD Disclosure (2017). Event Brief of Q3 2017 McCormick & Company Inc Earnings Call - Final. Retrieved from Factiva.
Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune
Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15 per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)
Articles, Scholarly:
Example:
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)
Books:
Examples:
Chapter in a book:
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.
Whole book:
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.
E-book, no DOI:
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236
Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).
Example:
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from https://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture
Company Information TEMPLATE
Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.
Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.
Company website:
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com
Industry Reports
Example:
Cohen, A. (2017). Department stores in the U.S report 45211. IBISWorld Industry. Retrieved from IBISWorld database
First Research (2017). Clothing Stores. Retrieved from Mergent First Research.
Industry Statistics:
Example:
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml
Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.
REFERENCEUSA or data generated from an analytics site or GIS
Example:
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.
ESRI. San Diego County Market Potential. 2016. www.communityanalystonline.com. August 25, 2017.
SimplyAnalytics user created data set / map:
SimplyAnalytics (2017). EASI/MRI Consumer Expenditure Data 2016. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.
Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.
Encyclopedia, No author:
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.
Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.
Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.
Legal Citation Formats
See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).
Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.
Example:
CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE
Personal Communication (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date. Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.
In Text Example:
... (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.
REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
10/17 afiegen
Judy Opdahl
760-750-4307
KEL 3424