Global Company Research:

Many of our subscription databases focus on Domestic (U.S.) based companies, select the best source for your needs.

• Tip: Searching on the name of a company can be tricky - is your company known by more than one name?

SDGE is also Southern California Gas and Electric; to ensure you capture all articles search using OR

• "Southern California Gas and Electric" OR SDGE
   

International-focused library database(s): This is ONE of the several databases the library subscribes to, see more below.  

1. Factiva (Limit on users = 23 at a time): This is a source that defaults to a search that is limited to the MOST RECENT 3 MONTHS.  Try the use of the Companies/Markets tab (see image below)

Use the web:

2. Google: create an advanced search strategy. Try using a domain limiter (.org, .gov) OR a type limiter (.pdf, .pptx)

3. Visit the company's website.  Read the "about us" section.  Is there an investors relation page? 

Remember you can use Google to search within the company's website

Other databases for company research are listed below, give them a try (note: not all cover will cover international companies).   

COMPANY INFORMATION

Business uses directories for industry analysis, competitor analysis, marketing, supplier, customers.
Company directories provide individual and competitor details for:

• Name
• Address and other contacts
• Key personnel
• Revenue and Sales
• Employee size
• NAIC / SIC numbers

Databases by Subject -- Business (this link opens in a separate window so you can acces each of these recommended databases). 

Searching databases for private companies, non-profits, schools and other other organizations may require multiple trys in different sources. 

ReferenceUSA  US private and public businesses,  some nonprofits includes sales and employee numbers.  Executive contact info.

How to Find Franchises in ReferenceUSA     GBM 425

For your Final GBM 425 Falla 2019 assignment find a franchise in ReferenceUSA use these filters to limit to select according to your assignment instructions 

1. Advanced Search -- Keyword:  Franchise  
2. Headquarters --- Pick several states
3. Sales --- Over 1 Billion  or figure adequate to expand oversees

RefUSA Learning Center  ** Quick Training material, videos, and guides**  How to search for businesses, competitors, suppliers, jobs and internships, general consumer research. 

Step By Step Guide to RefUSA [Does not work waiting for software update.] Company & Competitor search  *** Custom Guide to get to competitors. ***

How to guides for all things ReferenceUSA

Addition options for company searches

Factiva   Public company profiles.
Choose the Companies tab across the top first to find Company profiles, competitors, and latest news.

CQ FD Disclosure Conference Calls:  C-Level transcripts to analysts for Quarterly and Annual reports. 
To access:   Search name of company > Narrow on Left nav bar to Source:  Disclosure Reports

Business Source Premier   Search for Company SWOT analysis, large companies only.  
 

Megent Online BUS 444

Excellent for public corporations worldwide, also limited info on private companies in US.  Annual report in-depth financials, detailed history and abiltiy to make custom reports and analyse competitors.  Financial analysis from annual report data and  research firms 

Access: 
Company > Reports > Mergent Reports
Company > Competitors > Add all > Company Comparison Report 
Company Detais > Highlights (Health Check) 
Company Detais > Business segments (not required by the SEC but some reports available)
Company > Report Builder > Comparison Reports = against industry, or against Top 10, etc. 

California Business Entitites  Search for existing companies or file for new company name

Non-profit and charitable resource page. 
Recommended:  Charity Navigator, ERI Nonprofit Foundation Grant info. Foundation Center, Grant Search, GuideStar, IRS Master Tax File.

News articles on the web and library subscriptions.  Use .gov .org 

INDUSTRY DATA  Best place to start your industry analysis is by reviewing the BUS 302 Industry Reports how to apply Porter's, SWOTT, or Griffin.
The U.S. Census and use NAIC Industry Code for latest Industry Statistics.
Census --> Business and Industry --> Data by Geography
 

Suggested Databases to search for this assignment:

• Business Search Premier : Market research reports, SWOT analysis, trade publications, news, academic journals, and country reports.

• ABI/INFORM (ProQuest Database): Reports, Wire feeds, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, magazines, scholarly articles, and other sources.

• Mergent Online: There is a search specifically for INDUSTRY.  Apply limiters for Industry (check boxes) and then Region.

Google: Use limiters such as .org, .gov OR by type such as .pdf to locate research

Country Research

Best bests

1. globalEDGE (this is a website from Michigan State University)

• Visit the "Select a county" 
• Try the Insights by Industry > Energy
  • Look at the list of Resources > are there relevant associations for your need.

2. Passport Euromonitor: Libary database

3. The WorldBank East Asia Pacific: Website 

Look for a report on your county

4. Need MORE: Visit the library's guide for Country Culture for Business 

Country Economic Briefings & Profiles

The Economist Country Briefings
From the Economist.  Each country profile includes  a forecast, Factsheet, Economic data, short history, political structure and forces and economic structure.  Currency converter and news articles and links to related country websites.

CIA World Factbook (Government website)

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (Website: OECD.org) Search by countries or topics.

OECD Economic Outlook Online (Library Databases: ProQuest OR Ebscohost) OR
OECD Economic Outlook (Physical Books in library ); 4th floor at HC10 .O18

WorldBank - (website doingbusinessin.org)  Information on 190 economies. Select a country or a topic. 

Penn World Table: (Note: there are different datasets)
Alan Heston, Robert Summers and Bettina Aten, Penn World Table Version 6.1, Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania (CICUP), October 2002. 
Find GDP comparisons for countries worldwide time series 1950- present in a downloadable table.T

Physical & online books, media, and more can be located in the following ways:

1. Search the Library Catalog (Select: OneSearch, Article+, Books & more)
   • If using Books and more (use dropdown left-hand side for search types: subject, author, etc.)

                                                  OR

1. Search for an e-book, choose an e-book database from the list and use the search bar to enter terms
    
   • Remember off-campus access requires log-in with CSUSM User ID and Password
      
2. Looking for a specific journal? Use the Journal search to look for the title and which database (if we have access) provides coverage. Example: Energy Journal, you find Ebsco Academic Search Premier (among a list of databases) provides access.

Selected e-book titles  (search books and more for other titles)

The Art of Company Valuation and financial statement analysis by Nicolas Schmidlin

Corporate finance: A practical approach 

Corporate and Project finance modeling: theory and practice by E Bodmer (Edward)

Inside private equity: the professional investor's handbook by James M. Kocis

Public-private partnerships: principals of policy and finance by E. R. Yescombe

Introduction to Foreign Exchange Rates by Thomas J. O'Brien - eBook

Valuation for M & A: building value in Private Companies by Chris M Mellen

Streaming Video

Alternatives to Net Present Value - via Kanopy 

Website(s):

Internal Rate of Return 

IPEV Valuation Guidelines (The International Private Equity and Venture Capital Valuation (IPEV) Guidelines)

County "Attractiveness" Rating from The Venture Capital & Private Equity Country Attractiveness Index​​​​​​​ by ESE Business School (University of Navara)

Take a short survey of librarian instruction 

  Your anonymous feedback is appreciated!

APA Citation Style Guide (General)

    Has links to guides and citation generators.

Sources, Citations and Style. Watch this APA Citation Style Video (OWL Purdue. 2015) BUS 495 

____________________________________________________________________________

Reference the APA handout created by the writing center.  This is a single-page handout. It is intended to be printed two-sided and tri-folded.

apa_trifold_outside_6.18.19.pdf	apa_trifold_inside_6.18.19.pdf

• Need help, visit the writing center! 

____________________________________________________________________________

Common Business Citation Styles in APA Format

How to Cite in Text:
Cite as (last name or company name, year, page number). Example: (Longboard Grotto, 2009, p.23)

Example: 
She stated, "Students often had difficulty using APA style" (Jones, 1998, p. 199), but she did not offer an explanation as to why.

According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Consult the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) for detailed explanations and additional examples. Copies are available at the Cal State San Marcos Research Help Desk (BF76.7.P83 2009) or on Reserve.

Recommended Citation Generators:

A note of caution about Citation Generators.... NOT ALL ARE ACCURATE! Like everything, you need to know the basics and use them with caution and expect to make corrections. EbscoHost databases and Proquest have built in citation generators for each article. Use Cite This, or email citation. Known bug: Proquest authors and dates may need reformatting.

KnightCite       Hekman Library Calvin College
DocsCite          Arizona State University to help cite government documents
Owl at Purdue APA Style.     Highly recommended. Also note the sample manuscript with notations for APA instructions on formatting.
 

DOI Digital Object Identifiers

Cite the article as you would any print article and add the electronic access information at the end.
DOI: To access electronic articles preference is given to supplying an Digital Object Identifier, a unique number for an article. Inclusion of the DOI, if available, facilitates retrieval

Example: doi:10.1108/03090560710821161
* If no DOI end with the home page, do not paste the whole URL of the database name.

Articles, News or Trade:

News article with DOI: 
Brownlie, D. (2007). Toward effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41, 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

News article, no DOI, in Factiva 

Kenneth, I. A. (2000). A Buddhist response to the nature of human rights. Retrieved from Factiva.

CQ FD Disclosure (2017). Event Brief of Q3 2017 McCormick & Company Inc Earnings Call - Final. Retrieved from Factiva. 

Newspaper: San Diego Union Tribune

Econometer: $15 an hour for fast food jobs? Should the minimum wage be nearly doubled to $15 per hour for fast-food workers? (2013, September 8). U-T San Diego (CA) (First Edition ed.), C-2. Retrieved September 13, 2013, from NewsBank on-line database (Access World News)

Articles, Scholarly:

Example: 
Klimoski, R., & Palmer, S. (1993). The ADA and the hiring process in organizations. Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research, 45(2), 10-36. doi: 10.1037/1061-4087.45.2.1)

Books:

Examples: 
Chapter in a book: 
O'Neil, J. M., & Egan, J. (1992). Men's and women's gender role journeys: A metaphor for healing, transition, and transformation. In B. R. Wainrib (Ed.), Gender issues across the life cycle (pp. 107-123). New York, NY: Springer.

Whole book: 
McDonald, M. & Keegan, W. J. (1997). Marketing plans that work. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann.

E-book, no DOI: 
Stark, J. (2010). Building iPhone apps with html, css, and javascript [1st ed]. Retrieved from http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/9781449380236

Chapter or Section of a web document:
Cite the most specific webpage that you reference in your paper and include a link to the specific page.

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. In Title of book or larger web document (chapter or section number).

Example: 
Spain: Culture (2010). In GlobalEdge. Retrieved January 18, 2010 from https://GlobalEdge.msu.edu/countries/spain/culture

Company Information TEMPLATE 

Author (date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page number. Retrieved from http://nnnnnnn.htm 
Title of company (date). Publisher, database source. Retrieved from source name.

Examples: Entries in library databases:
Hoover’s Inc. (2010, February 16). Harley Davidson, Incorporated: In-depth record. Retrieved from ABI Inform.

Company website: 
Qualcomm (2010). FY 2009 4th Quarter Earnings Release. Retrieved from the Qualcomm, Inc. website https://www.qualcomm.com

Industry Reports
Example:

Cohen, A. (2017). Department stores in the U.S report 45211. IBISWorld Industry. Retrieved from IBISWorld database

First Research (2017). Clothing Stores.  Retrieved from Mergent First Research. 

Industry Statistics:
Example: 
U.S. Census Bureau. (2010). Musical instrument and supplies stores NAICS: 45114. Washington DC: Author.
Retrieved August 22, 2016 from the World Wide Web:https://factfinder.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

Data Set (user created): For customized datasets derived from an electronic database.

REFERENCEUSA or data generated from an analytics site or GIS

Example: 
InfoGroup. (2010). Corporate Lodging San Diego Metro Area. Available from ReferenceUSA database.

ESRI. San Diego County Market Potential. 2016. www.communityanalystonline.com. August 25, 2017. 

SimplyAnalytics user created data set / map:

SimplyAnalytics (2017). EASI/MRI Consumer Expenditure Data 2016. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.

Encyclopedia, Reference Source or Chapter in a book
See Reference list: other print sources. In Purdue Owl.

Encyclopedia, No author: 
Physical Fitness Products. (2007). In Encyclopedia of American industries. (pp. 671-675). Millerton, NY: Grey House Publications.

Reference work, Author:
Basham, M. (2009). Restaurants. In Standard & Poor's industry surveys. (Vol. 1). New York: Standard &Poor's.

Reference work: Multiple Authors: (authors in order as they appear)
Edell, J. A., & Burke, M. C. (1998). Feelings towards ads. In Bearden, W. O. & Netemeyer, R. G. In Handbook of marketing scales (2nd ed., pp. 283-285). Thousand Oaks: Sage.

Legal Citation Formats

See Westlaw or use the Uniform System of Case Citation (Blue Book).

Media--Video
To get the data for this YouTube clip you will need to extract speaker or author name, introductory slide, and other info.

Example: 
CSUSM (2015). Forward Together: The Campaign for California State University San Marcos. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7W1MXQUPFE

Personal Communication  (interview, email, phone call)
APA rules states that you cite your interviews or emails in the text only since they are not retrievable. Include person's name, type of communication, date.    Check with your professor who may also require you to list them in the Works Cited list.

In Text Example:
...  (J. Welch, personal communication, January 21, 2010)
.... Patricia Burns, e-mail message to author, December 15, 2008.

REV 10/13 by Carly Den Hartog CSUSM CoBA
10/17 afiegen