Research Databases by Title: N

Database Full Text Coverage Scholarly
National Academy Press

A collection of e-books, covering a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.

Full-text 1974 to current Most
New York Public Library Digital Library Collection

The Digital Library Collections provide the public with digital versions of books, manuscripts and photographs, representing a growing body of primary source material.

Full-text 1800 to 1969 Most
New York Times (Current, 1980-present)

Articles from the New York Times from 1980-present.  For articles prior to 1980, see the New York Times (Historical Collection) Database.

Full-text 1980 to present None
New York Times (Historical Collection)

The New York Times Historical Collection provides full page and article images including the NY Daily Times (1851-1857). The most recent four years not included in this historical collection can be searched through ProQuest Direct, LexisNexis or Factiva.

Full-text Archive None
New York Times Online (nytimes.com)

Complete access to the New York Times online, including media and interactive features and stories not included with the Library's other full-text access to New York Times content through databases like ProQuest.

All CSUSM users can create a nytimes.com account with an @csusm.edu or @cougars.csusm.edu email using this link. Once your account has been created, you can access complete New York Times content from NYTimes.com through the account you created with your CSUSM email.

Step 1: Go to the New York Times Institutional Access website

https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?auth=shibboleth&url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir

After you click the "Go" button, you'll be asked to log into your CSUSM account, if you haven't already.

Step 2: Create Your Account

Use your CSUSM email address to create your account.

image showing a text-entry field labeled email address

For security, we recommend that you pick a password other than your CSUSM account password.

Step 3: Confirm Your New Account

The first time you login, you'll be asked for a few details:

Are you a student or faculty/staff? If you're a student, choose your expected graduation year.

When you've completed the setup, you'll get a confirmation with your account expiration date:

The "Start Your Access" message shows your access expiration date.

Step 4. Login directly to https://nytimes.com with the credentials you just created.

From this point forward, you can use your personal account to log in directly to the New York Times website and access all published content.

Full-text Current None
NewsBank
    •  

NewsBank is a provider of several databases containing primary source documents, including current and historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, government publications and more. This link provides access to all library databases provided by NewsBank, including America’s News (which contains current access to the San Diego Union-Tribune and several thousand other US newspapers), the Archive of Americana, a historical primary source and newspaper collection, the America’s Historical Newspapers collection, American State Papers and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Full-text 1789 to Current Some