Research Databases by Title: S

Books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

A collection of over 38,000 O'Reilly programming and technology books - each completely searchable, including code fragments.

Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) is a collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from over 90 governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Sage Data allows you to search and browse billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Each dataset also has a detailed description, including information about its source organization and update frequency. The Sage Data platform provides durable web links and DOIs to make it easier to revisit datasets.

Datasets cover: agriculture and food; banking, finance, and insurance; criminal justice and law enforcement; education; energy resources and industries; government and politics; health and vital statistics; housing and construction; industry, business, and commerce; international relations and trade; labor and employment; military and defense; natural resources and environment; population and income; prices, consumption, and cost of living; and transportation and traffic.

Sage Journals Online includes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content alongside SAGE Video, containing over 5,100 titles. Content includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse over 10,000 items, video, book and reference titles within the Social Sciences. 

Links to over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Collection of newspapers published in San Diego under various titles, including the San Diego Union.

The San Diego Union-Tribune is the product of a merger of the San Diego Union, founded in 1868, and the Evening Tribune, founded in 1895. Published from an editorial, printing and business plant in San Diego's Mission Valley, it is the second-oldest newspaper in Southern California, and the oldest business in San Diego County; an area known as a popular vacation destination and home to Mission Bay Park, the largest man-made aquatic park in the country, consisting of 4,235 acres. The Union-Tribune has won numerous journalism awards over the years, including the Pulitzer Prize, and features daily news, sports, shopping, and entertainment coverage for the San Diego area.

Full-text of news articles is available from 1983-current, but full images are only available from 2018-current.

Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world. In the last half century alone, Science published:

• The entire human genome for the first time
• Never-before seen images of the Martian surface
• The first studies tying AIDS to human immunodeficiency virus

The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s oldest and largest general science organization. The nonprofit AAAS serves 10 million people through primary memberships and affiliations with some 262 scientific societies and academies.

A voice for science and scientists everywhere, AAAS fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” by communicating the value of science to the public, helping governments formulate science policy, promoting advancements in science education and diversity, and helping scientists develop their careers.

Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals covering all fields of science.

First-Time Registration Link:
https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=7D852910X86F35040X712EA56E52BDFE4923

Only once registered, login to SciFinder using:
https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/

SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information.

First-time users of SciFinder: You must register for an account using your CSUSM email account. Once registered, you can access SciFinder on- or off-campus using the SciFinder Login link. Off-campus, you will be required to sign into EZProxy and then sign into SciFinder with your personal account.

First-Time Registration Link:
https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=7D852910X86F35040X712EA56E52BDFE4923

Only once registered, login to SciFinder CAS Analytical Methods using:

https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?auth=shibboleth&url=https://methods.cas.org 

CAS Analytical Methods makes it simple to locate, compare, and understand analytical methods published in top journals.

• Search and compare the latest published scientific methods 
• Provides step-by-step instructions that you can take right to the lab!
• Focus areas include pharmacology, HPLC, food analysis, natural product isolation analysis and water analysis.

First-Time Registration Link:
https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=7D852910X86F35040X712EA56E52BDFE4923

Only once registered, login to SciFinder CAS Formulus using:

https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?auth=shibboleth&url=https://formulus.cas.org 

CAS Formulus is offered as a part of the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform. this integrated workflow tool helps formulation scientists create products that are safe and effective.

First-Time Registration Link:
https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=7D852910X86F35040X712EA56E52BDFE4923

Only once registered, login to SciFinder-n and ChemZent using:

https://ezproxy.csusm.edu/login?auth=shibboleth&url=https://scifinder-n.cas.org 

CAS SciFinderⁿ is your one true source for authoritatively identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers^®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields. 

mso-fareast-font-family:DengXian;mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-ansi-language:EN-US;mso-fareast-language:ZH-CN;mso-bidi-language:AR-SA">

An archive collection of the SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) Journals.

SBRnet serves any individual or organization with an interest in the business of sports with "one-stop" access to multiple resources, including Industry-developed Market Research, Government Statistics, Facility Reports and News, International Market Publications, Customized Research, and Directories. Only SBRnet provides nationwide analysis of statistical trends in each major segment of the sports market and the extent to which they interrelate.

Abstracts of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

This database provides access to social work and human services journals from 1965 to the present. Topics include addictions, therapy, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, mental health, education, and human services.

Provides access to the latest international findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science.

Letters, diaries, papers of Southern Americans from 18th through mid-20th century.

This database covers topics in sports sciences, sports medicine, physical fitness, kinesiology, physical therapy, exercise science, rehabilitation, nutrition, coaching, training, health education and more.

Springer ebooks can be read by multiple users at the same time and are digital rights management (DRM)-free for easy downloading and reading offline.

Includes more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals in science, medicine, and technology.

Reveal Digital’s Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today’s vibrant, continually unfolding actions. Angus Johnston, writing in The Chronicle of Higher Education, states, “The activists of the ’60s and ’70s, confronting universities that were hostile to their values and ideals, launched a movement that remade American higher education in their own image — not completely, and perhaps not permanently, but in significant, lasting ways. Today’s activists may yet articulate — and enact — a similarly far-reaching agenda.”

Scope:
The completed collection will contain approximately 75,000 pages drawn from special collection libraries and archives around the country. Materials intended for inclusion are wide-ranging in nature: Circulars, leaflets, fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, ephemera; and meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.

The collection will capture the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources intended for inclusion will be broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from the conservative to the anarchist.

In the interest of sensitivity toward the privacy of activists on the streets and in organizing communities today, the collection does not depict contemporary protests.